If you don’t want to use a particular email account with Microsoft Outlook, or if you want to completely close your Outlook account, it’s easy to do. We’ll show you how in this guide.
When you delete an email account, Outlook stops syncing new emails from that account. It also deletes cached content from your email account, such as emails and attachments. However, note that your original emails with your email service are retained.
If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you can do so by closing your Microsoft account, as we’ll explain in this guide.
Delete email account from Outlook application
To get rid of an email account so that you cannot see its emails, first launch the Outlook application on your computer.
When Outlook opens, in the upper left corner, click “File”.
In the right pane, choose Account Settings > Account Settings.
An “Account Settings” window will open. Here, click on the “Email” tab and select the email account to delete. Then, in the menu bar above the selected email account, click “Delete”.
If you delete the only email account in Outlook, the application will ask you to create a new one data file.
To do this, in the “Account Settings” window, go to the “Data Files” tab. Next, click “Add” followed by “OK” to create a new Outlook Data File.
Back on the “Email” tab, choose the email account to delete and select “Delete”.
You will see a warning message stating that offline cached content in your email account will be deleted. This only affects the local copy of your account data on your computer; your original data associated with your account is retained.
Continue by clicking “Yes”.
And you are ready. Outlook has deleted the selected email account and you will no longer see its emails in the app. Enjoy!
RELATED: How to Delete Multiple Emails in Microsoft Outlook
Permanently close an Outlook account (Microsoft)
If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you will need to close your Microsoft account. This will delete all data associated with your account, including emails, purchases, and other items.
To do this, go to our dedicated guide on how to delete microsoft account. There, follow the steps to terminate your account. Once done, your account will be closed and you will no longer be able to access it.
And that’s how you declutter your Outlook application and say goodbye to your Outlook account forever!
Want to add a new email account to Outlook? If so, it’s easy to set up this email client with any of your email accounts.
RELATED: How to Set Up a POP3 or IMAP Account in Microsoft Outlook